Leveling Equipment - need some advise

Shep.4026

Hi there!

Let me begin by saying this: I'm an altoholic. In the long run I'll probably end up with 2 toons of each class, probably more of those I really enjoy, maybe only 1 of a class I don't enjoy that much. The latter however is very unlikely. I've been playing actively for about 6 months now, I used my two 80 boosts to get a headstart with crafting professions, the odd perk here and there, masteries and mounts.

I'm now at a point where I'm leveling my first alt the way I like to do it: form zero to hero, no xp-boosts and using crafted gear as much as possible. I'm not much of an endgamer, I love story, development of my characters and exploration. I was about to craft his level 50 gear when I stumbled upon Ineffeble Insignias and ended up on the wiki page outlining leveling equipment. I began reading and my first thought was: Wow, this is great! I can craft a whole batch of gear that I can switch between alts! But then I continued reading and the confusion started to set in.

1) selectable stats. I'm not unfamiliar with this kind of gear, but in my naivety I have to admit that in this case I first assumed they would stay selectable. I mean, what's the point in crafting account bound leveling gear if the selected stats are only (optimally) usable for certain builds? My solution here would be to craft only leveling armor and craft soulbound weapons and trinkets as I'm leveling the toons. But which stats would you suggest are closest to all-purpose? I'm eying Knights and then supplementing the armor via said weapons and trinkets to add, for instance, condition damage or ferocity.