Advice for new Weaver (sustain/squishyness)

Shizai.9204

I started playing weaver recently, and coming from a revenant (renegade) main, I instantly found to be extremely squishy. I have only played my elementalist until level 30-40, then used the level 80 boost I got from the expansions. I am now playing sword/dagger, with this build: https://snowcrows.com/raids/builds/elementalist/weaver/sword/(Note that I am more like a casual/solo player, so I am not (yet) into raids, I just take this site as comparison/guide for efficient builds).

I still have the level 80 boost equippment, which leaves me with stats like this: https://imgur.com/a/Artcn47When I look at the desired set of (ascended) gear with beserker stats, I see that I am going to lose quite a bit of vitatlity. This would make me even more squishy, and I am already having a hard time not to faceplant.

I like the playstyle a lot, and I got better with the weaver after a while (also I find staff to be really boring, so I'd like to master sword/dagger). For the rotation I try to stick to whats given here: https://snowcrows.com/raids/builds/elementalist/weaver/sword/ although I already swapped arcane blast for arcane shield, and I also tend to switch to water often for the healing. Still, compared to my renegade, I rather die myself through a tough fight instead of surviving as I can do on my rev.

What advice can you give me to get better with the weaver, and struggle less with tough solo boss fights? What gear should I am for? (currently gathering daily crafts, so it will take some more days until I start crafting ascended gear).

For solo play I'd generally avoid raid builds. Raid DPS builds they focus on slick rotations (rightly so!) and assume buffs are coming from other players, whereas buffs cannot be assumed in solo play and you may need more flexibility from your utility skills and traits.

IMHO there are two options.