What should I do with a downed opponent?

bleakcabal.9650

I'm somewhat new to pvp, I play thief and I need to get better. To this end I have some questions.

When an opponent is in a downed state should I use the finish him action or just proceed to damage them until they die? The finish action takes some time which I sometimes don't have when there are other opponents nearby. What's generally faster/safer?

When I've just downed another player and someone else from his team comes along and starts to heal him, what should I do, it has happened (particularly when there is a lot going on) that someone is downed and he gets help and I can't stop someone from helping them. Should I target the downed player? His helper?

Thanks.

What shall we do with a downed opponent,What shall we do with a downed opponent,What shall we do with a downed opponent,Early in the morning?

Weigh heigh and up she risesWeigh heigh and up she risesWeigh heigh and up she risesEarly in the morning!

Knock 'em off the point until they've respawned,Knock 'em off the point until they've respawned,Knock 'em off the point until they've respawned,Early in the morning!

Weigh heigh and up she risesWeigh heigh and up she risesWeigh heigh and up she risesEarly in the morning!

Spike 'em in the chest with an invuln finisherSpike 'em in the chest with an invuln finisherSpike 'em in the chest with an invuln finisherEarly in the morning!

That's what we do with a downed opponent,That's what we do with a downed opponent,That's what we do with a downed opponent,Early in the morning!

If there’s any amount of damage from other enemies nearby, just cleave the body unless you can use Shadow Step to stomp at a safe distance. Also, make sure to drop a poison on the body to reduce revive speed. Also stun enemies if they try to revive. This can often get you two kills when an attempted stomp can result in you getting downed instead.