Chronomancer x Mirage, and is GS that bad?

Daniegun.9201

Hey guys!I've recently start playing as Mesmer, and right now I'm gathering hero points to get the elite specialization.I've looked in a lot of posts comparing Chrono x Mirage, but they are kind old.I would like to know what do you think about this comparsion. I'm not thinking about pvp neither wvw. The ideia is to play open world and initial levels of fractals, perhaps easy raids too (yeah I'm a noob!)Also, is there any build where GS is good? Right now I'm using S/F + GS, trying to do burst damage.Thank you!!

Power Chronomancer with greatsword is a legitimately good and viable build.

https://snowcrows.com/raids/builds/mesmer/chronomancer/power/

Specifically check under the Domination tab on this page for the Greatsword Variant and check out the rotation videos. The idea is to get as many Chronophantasma boosted phantasms cast during Continuum Shift as possible. This thing can burst out tooooons of damage very quickly.

Basically what @mortrialus.3062 said.

There are few things I want to point out however, regarding mirage vs chrono, mirage is still considered more superior and easier to pickup (also less buggy) in terms of dps (not burst!) but chrono has both options in power-based dps and support. In instanced content however, people tend to assume chronos are always support/not good at dps, which can be annoying at times. If you play mirage though, you’d be more effective using condis and playing axe or scepter, and not GS.