Getting Ascended Gear

Xuto.6803

So i finally am full exotics on my soulbeast ranger. Plus two ascended rings from fractals.

A ton of guides online advised me to level leatherworking, which i did, but when i got one of the ascended gear recipes i realised that it will be extremely time consuming to get everything done.

So I am looking for advice on what is the optimal to progress from where i am right now, as i am still new to the game.

Getting fully ascended gear is one of the many goals of mine while playing guild wars 2.

Anybody that has crafted ascended gear with the expansion stats such as Seraph, plaguedoctor, or diviner knows if it's cheaper than crafting the other combinations?

Leatherworker is ridiculously expensive because of leather prices being way out of whack compared to cloth or metal, so anything that can reduce the cost should be taken into consideration.

I am thinking that maybe crafting one of the newer sets and then stat swapping would be a lot cheaper since then the insignia doesn't need leather to be acquired.

By far the most cost efficient way is to simply play Fractals, Raids, PvP and WvW.

Doing alot of either will give you the currencies you need to buy ascended pieces (some of which can even be upgraded to tier 3) and the only thing you'll really have to craft are the crafting-profession specific tokens.

Playing WvW and PvP will get you these tokens at a slow rate, so leveling up a discipline is a good way to speed that process along.

The tokens themselves are mostly made from materials found in your loot anyway, so you only pay for the increased rate of completion, or if you're like me simply pour all your earnings into getting it really fast.

@Skotlex.7580 said:Anybody that has crafted ascended gear with the expansion stats such as Seraph, plaguedoctor, or diviner knows if it's cheaper than crafting the other combinations?