I want to earn a Gift of Battle but don't know the first thing about how to start WvW — Guild Wars 2 Forums

I want to earn a Gift of Battle but don't know the first thing about how to start WvW

As the title says, I know I'll need a Gift of Battle for legendary crafting, and I'd like to start working towards it, but I have no idea how to get started in WvW. I did go in there once and I think I led a supply yak successfully because I unlocked an achievement for it, but I really couldn't tell what I was supposed to do, where I was supposed to go, or even where I was/how to read the map.

I thought that since it sounds like WvW is going to have some changes soon, this might be a good time to try again. Does anyone know of some good guides to how to get started for someone who is truly a complete noob to it? (I never did PvP or WvW in any other game so I don't know any of the basics at all).

I didn't want to post this in the WvW section because it looks like they're focused on other issues right now :)

Comments

• Cyninja.2954Cyninja.2954 Member ✭✭✭✭

The first step might be to just skim through the wiki: https://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/World_versus_World

The easiest approach would probably be to pick a class of choice and just jump in. If you want to prepare a bit before hand, read the wiki to understand what is happening and check metabattle for suggested builds for your class. Most have explanations with them as to how to play the class and what it's good for (as well as community ratings as to how desirable those builds are).

• "Face the facts. Then act on them. It's ...the only doctrine I have to offer you, & it's harder than you'd think, because I swear humans seem hardwired to do anything but. Face the facts. Don't pray, don't wish, ...FACE THE FACTS. THEN act." — Quellcrist Falconer

• StrawHat.2639StrawHat.2639 Member ✭✭✭
    edited February 21, 2019

If your on Ehmry Bay server you can join my open tag this weekend for that .