WvW mechanics

Rogue.4756

So I'm fairly new to WvW. I ha e previously been a 100% pve player. I solo everything, personal story, ls, and so on without any problems. I have just recently started WvW as something new to do. I went to metabattle checked out builds and made a couple too so suitable for WvW. However, I continually get seriously trounced. I assume the mechanics of pve and WvW are very different and I just need to learn the WvW mechanics of fighting to be more successful. Or is there something else I am missing. By the way, I haven't found the WvW community to be rude or toxic in anyway. Never been kick out if squad by a commander or had anyone voice any ill will or anything. Much appreciated as I am new and still learning. I guess I should say I am on Gates of Madness, not sure if that makes any real difference at all. Also, as far as armour goes, I don't have any ascended at all, I have never crafted or tried any fractals at all. As I said I have been strictly pve. I do have ascended trinkets as far as that goes though. Also, I have tried out power reaper, Chrono and spell breaker. I prefer reaper in pve, but so far in wvw I've enjoyed spell breaker. I have been in the game for 5 years and have all core professions to lvl80 plus elites ( somewheres around 13 or 14 toons)

The rudeness and toxic happens but its not all that bad to just block it.

Blobbing wont help you for fighting in WvW, tho newcomers seem to be prone to zerging since pve on bosses is mostly that.

Find a roaming, havok guild....nothing over 20 closed wvw members and you'll be able to learn a lot more than zerging.And in time or right away if they like you, you'll be able to get feedback from them on builds etc.

I speak from my first year experience when the game launched and I roamed with my first guild (5-10 peps) on a level 60 I think it was War...learned a lot more than following Goldie in Ebg on say war with such big fights and ktraining stuff...