Is elixir gun good in PvP ?

Supermonk.6913

Hi. I am new to engineer and guild wars 2 but not that new.

I know scrapper and holismith are very strong.

I was wondering if elixir gun is strong for dueling and 1v1 as engineer ?

I know people call it a support weapon but I think elixir gun is very powerful.

The poison dart does sustain damage and gives weakness which makes damage incoming half right ?

Acid spray is good for damage and acid bomb does tremendous damage.

The healing orb is good for healing and sustain but the 2nd skill I can't see it being that good.

ANYWAYS.

I was thinking of making a celestial elixir gun build or maybe a sentinal elixir gun build for wvw roaming.

I already have a scrapper on a character slot. Was going to make this engineer an elixir gun duelist.

Maybe I am reading this wrong.

Is elixir gun OP weapon to main and kit to sit in for Controlled PvP and owning in skirmishes ?

I plan to use this same build for spvp too.

The flame thrower is not that great. Mostly cleave burn. Bomb kit feels utterly useless. Grenades feels good for air cleave support. Tool kit feels kind of weak/too much ultility. Hammer is s a great defense control weapon. Rifle feels like a great control damage weapon. Pistols looks like good single target condition.

But elixir gun still feels like a good solo dueling weapon. Also tanky and controlling.

So anyone have any tips about elixir gun ? Should I camp it for dueling ?

Thanks all for reading. Good luck.

EG is a great utility, it were nerfed with the condition clear on elixirs but it's still viable.

But it's not a kit for "camping". It have a lot defensive utilities (weakness, cripple, leap back) but it don't have damage (just EG4 if you root the enemy on the puddle and cancel the leap). Actually that was one of the most annoying combos from the First Scrapper with the SlickShoes (before nerf) to sit people on EG4 while hit them with the hammer. But sadly that combo was nerfed and don't work anymore.