Total noob here - cant decide between Soulbeast or Deadeye

SabreWolf.4537

In 2012 i played a thief to level 50 and haven’t played since. I’m done with BFA and looking for a replacement I decided to give this another go and got the xpacks on sale :)

In most MMOs I play either a “Ranger” or “Assassin” (bow or daggers), and I’m really torn between ranger and thief. Or Soulbeast and Deadeye (and daredevil).

I created two new characters and spent the past 6 hours in the PvP lobby on training dummies just testing out both characters and trying different builds to see what clicks and honestly I like both lol

I’ll eventually level both to 80 but which would be better to start off with? Which is the better jack of all trades as I plan to do PvE (dungeons/fractals?), PvP and WvW. (Probably more pvp/wvw though)

EDIT: forgot to mention I was testing Soulbeast with LB/GS and Deadeye with Rifle D/P. The Deadeye seemed to down things a lot quicker once I got the hang of it. But I see vids of Soulbeasts wrecking face so I was for sure missing something since my bow felt like it was slinging plastic arrows

I'd go with Soulbeast to start. It's more tolerant to mistakes and generally more widely accepted in group PvE content than Deadeye. Even when Deadeye has one of the most powerful DPS builds atm, people still frown on thieves in PvE. A good thief player will wreck face but a bad thief is usually a dead thief.

Here's a handy site to use: http://en.gw2skills.net/editor/Also you can find builds for all purposes from Metabattle.

You can't really bring longbow Soulbeast into high-end PVE content. You can, however, bring shortbow. Shortbow Soulbeast is a condition spec, which roughly translates to DoT damage rather than direct damage. The reason you'd want to bring Shortbow is simply because it does much more damage than Longbow Soulbeast.