Is crafting ever worthwhile?

I've played the game for a while now, and crafting never seemed worthwhile when the trading post exists.

For example, let's say I'm a newly-trained chef and I want to make the basic unidentified orange dye. That takes 25 onions and 25 carrots.

Right now on the trading post, 25 onions costs 74s 90c, and 25 carrots costs 18s 93c. This comes to a total of 93s 83c for the materials to craft it.

If I wanted to buy common-rarity unidentified orange dye, it would cost 9s 99c right now. And if I wanted to buy a common-rarity dye directly, the most expensive common rarity dye is Mushroom at 4s 9c.

It appears that if I want an item, the cheapest option is to simply buy it directly from the trading post instead of crafting it. I could go through the trouble of harvesting 25 onions and 25 carrots directly, and then craft the dye while paying nothing, but I could also just sell the raw materials directly and pocket the 93s 83c, and use that money to buy loads of dyes.

It's for that reason that crafting never seemed economically worthwhile to me. Processing materials almost always reduces their value on the trading post, and I can usually buy finished items on the trading post for less than what the crafting materials would cost.

Does this change when I reach higher crafting levels? I've never been committed enough to crafting to see whether or not it does eventually become economically worthwhile to craft items instead of buying them from the trading post. I figured I'd ask here instead of wasting a lot of time & gold figuring out the answer for myself.

Crafting is great for those playing awhile and already have the needed materials. Crafting is great for making sets of Ascended gear. Crafting is needed for some collections and special achievements. Crafting has a lot of uses and I've used all of the crafting professions and don't regret maxing them all.

http://gw2profits.com/

There are all sorts of profitable recipes in each discipline.