Max Level Shield use

Hi guys, I recently started playing gw2 (better late than never right...), and was wondering if any of the (elite) professions is viable to use a shield at max level?

I prefer to play warrior tank type classes in MMO's but from looking at metabattle, the only class I can see that uses them are Chronos (and I dont want to play a caster...) ? Is this the case? I realise the trinity system doesnt really apply to GW2....

First, there aren't really any tanks in GW2. You can build that way, but you won't really be playing a "tank".

Plenty of classes can use a shield effectively, though. There's Chronomancer, of course (though you say you don't want to play one of those). There's also Revenant and Guardian healers. Engineers have a fun open-world build that relies on boons to buff survivability, and they use a pistol and a shield. You'll also often see Warriors using a shield in PVP or for PVE utility as a secondary weapon.

In defence of mesmers...

Chronos in meta situation basically drop AoEs and DoTs then go back to hack and slash. They're sword-and-shield fighters who cast more than they're casters who hold a shield. Strong AoE, excellent crowd control and the easiest tank in the game.

Don't let the light armour and disco butterflies fool you; at their strongest they're an upfront melee class. Phantasms are basically fire and forget DoTs and clones are basically crowd control and meatshields you can turn into a bomb.

The biggest problem with shields is that the enemies attack so slowly that you only wind up blocking a single attack and then getting a huge CD before you can block again. You'd have been better off just taking the hit and healing it or dodging/moving to avoid it.