Revenant Tips/Weapon choice? WvW/PvP

blightus.1580

I've been enjoying Revenant on a PvE side of things for many months now.

I am a reasonably OK player regarding PvP and a hardened veteran when it comes to WvW.Problem is; that's all with a Guardian.

I've checked Meta builds for Revenant and they generally seem similar across the board for both PvP and WvW, build-wise, apart from the obvious armor/trinket stat changes.What I want to know is if anyone has any tips, play-styles, or preferred weapon choices for either PvP or WvW, as a Revenant, as I'm struggling to play either with any efficiency.

If you play on a server that plays very ranged bomb heavy then power hammer is always going to be a solid choice.

If you play on a server that melee balls a lot and gets up there and you want to survive through the front line then most of the frontline metabattle builds are pretty accurate. Power hammer works here too, but you gotta work a bit harder to survive if you get caught out as part of the back line.

In WvW it's entirely about what you can bring to your team.As such, you'll unquestionably be running Mallyx, even if you're power. Sorry, pain absorb is too important in the current WvW meta.

Your choices from there will be dependent on what the group needs. Dwarf offers stability for the group & survivability for you, glint is mostly for the heal (If you're in any organized group you'll have plenty of might anyway), and ventari is for a hilarious knockback tank build.

Really, there's quite a few ways to play revenant and I can't just say "Do X".

I can tell you that running shiro is sub-optimal in pretty much every scenario over your other options. And that if you're running a build that isn't tanky, then don't expect to sit on the front line tanking it up.

Check the Builds on metabattle. But these are the most useful:Backline Rev

• Full dps with Hammer/Staff
  • Strength runes
  • Invocation/Devastation/Herald
  • Glint/Shiro