What I like about GW2 PvP

Majirah.5089

TL;DR: Wall of text about what I like about gw2. Gw2 > swtor. What do you like about gw2 pvp? Please focus on the positive as I'm genuinely interested in what others like about it.

Now for the wall of text:

With all the negativity going on in the pvp community I thought I'd share some more positive thoughts on what I enjoy about gw2 pvp.

A little background. I'm fairly new to mmo's compared to a lot of people. I played City of Heroes/Villains for a couple years and then took a break from games. Started back up when swtor launched and play that until I picked up this game a little over a year ago. In all of them I focused on pvp because I like the dynamic nature of pvp.

So, what do I like about gw2 pvp:

1. I absolutely love the fact that gear is irrelevant in instanced pvp. Sure there are other imbalances, but not having a gear gap in pvp is awesome. That is one of the reasons I quit swtor because they were heading more that way after the community thanked them for how forgiving gearing was. Their response was to destroy that. My favorite thing is that you still get customization with amulets, runes, signets, and specializations, but that you don't have a gear grind or a gear gap. It's awesome.
  2. As much as people may disagree with me I like how much more variety there is in builds in gw2 than swtor. Sure it may not be as versatile as COH was, or as some other games might be, but in my opinion it beats swtor by miles. For a lot of professions I can have a viable, if not optimal, build using various weapons, skills, and specializations. Some are better than others sure. One will always be optimal. But there are many that are viable and fun.
  3. I like how you can get to level 2 on any given toon and hop right into testing a new play style in pvp. Ideally unranked for sure. This was really nice for me as a new player. As I was able to get a good taste for each profession without having to level it up all the way first.