What ist the purpose of staff?

Dschromm.2946

@Thornwolf.9721 said:

@Dschromm.2946 said:Hello fellow necros,

I am fairly new to the game and finally decided to main necro through the content of this awesome game.

But, i find myself struggeling to understand the role of necro staff. While other main hands so to have designated roles (as far as i understand: dagger - sustain, axe - power burst, scepter - condi application), i am confused by staff:
  1. Slow moving, lf generating auto that looks cool, but hits like a wet noodle (power)
  2. Aoe bleed and regen. So some kind of sustain, Support and condi application (condi)
  3. Aoe poison and chill. So condi and CC (condi)
  4. Aoe condi transfer coupled with Power damage
  5. Aoe fest- CC

So what's it role? Power damage? No. Condi damage? No. Support? Not really. CC/tank weapon? Maybe, but why then ranged?

So, Help and advice is much appreciated.

See you ingame \○/

It's dated from back when the game launched, It and danger main-hand along with I think to some degree focus are all kind of lack-luster when compared to the necro's other weapons in their current form. They all need reworks (Staff and mainhand dagger need a complete overhaul/rework) so that they can be made more engaging and fun to play with; Main hand dagger and Staff are two weapons that always screamed occultist to me outside of scepter and focus. Out of those scepter shines and is strong but the others kind of feel... sub-par.

It will probably be redone one of these days and brought to the games new way of function, role and unique feel.

Don't be dissing my dagger bro!!my dedicated healing skill is on that beast :P

just saying it could be better lol