A Few Questions on Offhand Weapon Choices for Tempest

broFenix.1632

Hi everyone, I recently started playing Tempest and Elementalist in general again recently and I wanted to ask for some help. I am playing with this build: https://metabattle.com/wiki/Build:Tempest_-_Dagger/x_Fresh_Air.

I was wondering if I should play with Dagger/Warhorn, Dagger/Dagger, or Dagger/Focus, just for Open World content. I think I see that Warhorn does not have any condition cleanse, while offhand Dagger and Focus do. Warhorn seems like it has better damage, oddly enough, than offhand Dagger, even though people online on Reddit and these forums have said offhand Dagger has the highest damage of the offhand weapons. May I ask what condition cleanse I can take if using Warhorn, as conditions can do a ton of damage on me in the Open World alone?

I also wondered if using Ring of Fire (#4 Fire skill on offhand Dagger) and Ride the Lightning (#4 Air skill on offhand Dagger) are DPS losses, as they really seem like they are. Should I even use Ring of Fire and Ride the Lightning or should I just switch to Air and use the autoattack?

What would you all recommend in general in open world, for which offhand weapon to take?

Thank you for the help.

Focus is only worth it if running a condition build, else it's a DPS loss for survivability.

Warhorn has higher DPS vs large hitboxes, which barely exist in open world. In a 1v1 I would say Dagger, but vs many mobs Air #4 and Air #5 of Warhorn can obliterate groups of them while holding on its useful utility. However, on Tempest, I would go for Warhorn because of the better AoE + you trait Fresh Air so you will barely touch Fire attunement for Fire Grab/Ring of Fire to be of much impact. If you feel confident enough you may drop Arcane for Water because Water got a lovely 20% worth of damage modifiers post last patch