New player. Is it worth it?

Hello everyone!My name is Orsson and I started playing guild wars 2 a week ago. I'm an avid MMORPG player and after playing World of Warcraft for a quite handful amount of my life I decided to quit, because the game has lost its charm for me, and find another game to spend my time in. I've always been hearing about GW2 and I had hidden interest in this title, but my commitment to wow wouldn't let me try it out, so after quitting I've headed straight into this game.My first impressions were fantastic. Almost every mechanic of this game appeals to me one way or another, so I decided that I really want to put a huge amount of time in it, but before I proceed I wanted to ask one question, is it worth starting playing and going full ham on GW2 now, as a "WoW refugee"? How is the state of the game? What is the future of this game? Would you do it in 2019?I know that this kind of topic may seem odd, but I really want to know, because I would like to avoid a situation where I put hundred of hours and bags of money into the game and see it fall after couple of months. I've already purchased both expansions during the 2 for 1 sale having some money to spare, but I've heard that I have to put a little more for Living World stories and for example quality of life items from the gemstore.Thanks for Your answers in advance!Cheers!

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You don't have to put any money into the game for those things mentioned, as the game has a Gold-to-Gems exchange.If you are interested in the Story, why not play the Core Tyria Personal Story, and complete the Core Tyria maps, and then decide how you feel about continuing.

You can also play the current Living World Episode (the Prologue to the new Season/Saga) at no extra cost.

Welcome to Tyria, and good luck.