Rotations for dummies (PvE specific)?

Can someone please offer a simple explanation of what a rotation is? As I understand it, it's the order in which you press each skill... is that right? I've been to snowcrows and am just overwhelmed with their explanations. Is there a site that offers simpler options? Are rotations even necessary in PvE? I've made it through the story without any, but are fractals gonna kick my butt if I don't know mine? Thanks in advance!

In short: in order to maximise your damage output within a short time window, you need to combine your active abilities (buttons you press) in a given order to ensure that the most damage will go out in that time window. The way it works changes drastically by profession and build but essentially the order is determined by factors like:

1) a certain skill triggers one or more buffs when you use it, so you want to use it first so the big ability you use right after benefits from said buff;2) certain abilities have a cooldown and usually there is a way to optimise rotation so they are available again when certain buffs are available again;3) in GW2 certain active skills are purely utilitarian (e.g. knockback a foe, or trigger some protection) and those are usually excluded from rotations but used only when that ability is needed, meaning you alter your rotation to fit it in (e.g. when CC is needed for a breakbar or a group Aegis is needed because of a fight ability). This is why some rotations have moments of auto-attack/Skill 1 because it does more damage than another skill that is available but is purely utilitarian

Understanding why your rotation is like what you see on Snowcrows or some other website is very important, because it means you understand the inner logic of the profession/build. And it allows you to adapt whenever your rotation is interrupted because of mechanics or other disruptions.