Playing Guild Wars 2 on Linux - Performance optimizations and more.

@"Shouryu.4169" said:hi, any of you guys installed linux on nvidia mx150 ? i've just installed gw2 via the friendly installer (https://github.com/liberodark/GW2-Wine), but the frame rate is really unstable 5 to 60 fps.

my pc specs : i7 8th gen, nvidia mx150, 16gb ram, 512ssdis the installer https://github.com/liberodark/GW2-Wine based on vulkan version ?

Hi, yes the installer version is on par with the zipped vulkan (d9vk) version. I'm not very experienced with Nvidia on laptops, haven't tested the game on it either. Are you sure it's making use of the Nvidia GPU?

Need primusrun or optirun for nvidia in laptop also need a arch or manjaro for good nvidia driver have possibility to make nvidia by default https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?title=Optimus_Manager.And sorry but the mx 150 is bad graphique cards is not for gaming : https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Nvidia-MX150-0-vs-Nvidia-GTX-1050/m332822vs3650

@ArmoredVehicle.2849 said:

@"Elevate.7503" said:Due to the "xrandr" issue @ArmoredVehicle.2849 pointed out I decided to switch to I3 for my tests. After doing so all issues are resolved.

Resolution Steps
  • running ./setup.sh again and not copying in d3d9.dll file
  • switch to i3 (or any other X based DM)

At this point, what are some other
things
I could try to increase FPS. I imagine it boils down to graphics but perhaps there are some "general" guidelines that have been discovered, running Windowed Fullscreen or setting Shadows to Medium. It seems a bit slower than the gallium-nine version i've been running with.

Also, how can I run add-ons (mount and arcdps...maybe hooks as well)?
  • Is it any different than an override for wine?

Glad you got it running! It seems your issues was Wayland related.

You mentioned "not copying d3d9.dll", which one are you referring to? The game already comes with the D9VK based one.