Playing Guild Wars 2 on Linux - Performance optimizations and more.

@loseridoit.2756 said:

@"Shouryu.4169" said:hi, any of you guys installed linux on nvidia mx150 ? i've just installed gw2 via the friendly installer (
), but the frame rate is really unstable 5 to 60 fps.

my pc specs : i7 8th gen, nvidia mx150, 16gb ram, 512ssdis the installer
based on vulkan version ?

Hi, yes the installer version is on par with the zipped vulkan (d9vk) version. I'm not very experienced with Nvidia on laptops, haven't tested the game on it either. Are you sure it's making use of the Nvidia GPU?

nvidia only added vulkan PRIME offloading support last month.

-/

Yes, Nvidia support is so bad that you could only start using vulkan on almost all Nvidia laptops last month.

Definitely not true. I've been using vulkan on Nvidia laptops since SteamPlay/Proton came out. Granted I have a system76 laptop and run Pop!_OS which has its own Optimus solution (which is open source BTW)

@ArmoredVehicle.2849 said:

@Kiso.8465 said:Uhm I've said in comment bellow that I used the old method and I can login and enter the character selection but the map loading takes more than 5 minutes and i'm not sure what the cause is ? HDD being bad or something?

Ah ok, I wasn't sure what the old method was referring to. Anyhow, 5 minutes is quite a long time even for such a system, the HDD may cause that. However before going into that, have you downloaded the entire game data? Because if not, this can be a very possible cause for the slow loading.

If you wish to download it before playing you can run: "./play.sh -image".

I didn't cause whenever I turn it on to download it freezes quite a bit, so prolly something wrong with laptop but dno what

The missing data may be the cause for the slow loading. In case you wish to check the HDD, look into reading the smart data from it.

i managed to load in but it took 3 min and after that i couldn't talk to anything in edge of the mists just a massive freeze