Complete noob

Hi guys,I know you probably get these posts a lot but basically I’m completely new to the guild wars games. I’ve played WoW, all the Diablo’s etc, just looking for a new game. I’ve purchased the upgrades so I have a level 80 hero ready to go but also got a level 20 I’ve been playing through. I’m just looking for a bit of guidance, some friendly people to help me along with some useful tips as to where to start! I watched several YouTube videos and read quite a lot of posts but always best to just go straight to the source and ask opinions! A guild would be handy too, I’m a really active gamer and willing to put the hours in to learn all about this game.No flame pls I have feelings :(((

Edit; sorry I realise it’s probably good to mention I’m an EU player

Thanks in advance!

Hi @"DAVIDISWIN.3182" and welcome to the game,

one of the most repeated advices for gw2 is to level your first character manually. I know, using the lvl 80 boosts is tempting and all, but you'll quickly find yourself overwhelmed.

Every race has a capital city and Lions Arch (short LA) is the capital of them all. Your race's capital city is close to where your character first starts and has a portal that leads to LA. This is important to know since it allows you to get around and to other low lvl maps quickly.

Don't try to level by killing mobs, especially not above your level. The best way to level is map completion. Take part in events you come across, unlock waypoints, vistas, etc. and help NPCs by completing the yellow heart quests. If you've completed your map and still don't have the level for the next map, you can travel to another race's starting area and level there. Being a higher level than the map's level cap is no problem, you still get full exp.

Currently in LA there's our annual Halloween Event running. I recomment participating there, since it has rewards that are only available once a year. 3 Candy Corn Cobs for a 20 slot bag is a really good offer.