Returning player wanting to discuss the overall game and what keeps it interesting with others

Justin.5231

Hello! I started playing GW2 in 2012 when my college roommate showed it to me. For a long time now, I have bounced between it and other mmos. I am returning to the game once again, but would like to have a discussion with other players that are most likely more dedicated to the game than I am. I really would love to hear your honest opinions on the things that I present below. I do not ask them to stir up drama, or bash anyone. I just genuinely want to know how I can truly come to enjoy and call GW2 my "main" mmo. Insight from others would help. :)

So I want to start by laying out some talking points of things I enjoy in GW2.

1. Combat - This seems to be a general consensus among GW2 players. I thoroughly enjoy the combat in this game. I love that you usually aren't standing in place, casting a 2 second skill over and over. Usually you are running and casting, while trying to dodge attacks. It seems very engaging. This is the main reason I come back to GW2 over time. I don't usually feel like I am attacking a meat shield NPC. It feels like my skills actually do damage. (for example, doing a bursty attack on a mob and seeing their hp melt is great in this game... But trying to do a bursty attack in eso feels lackluster).

2. Raid Mechanics - I'll admit, I have only beaten around 6 raid bosses. But they are very fun to me. All of them have a different feel.

3. PVP - I SUCK at it, but it is fun. It ties in generally with my fondness of the combat in general, but I love that you have to play smart and know your class somewhat. I've definitely tried choosing the flavor of the month (like an engineer) and getting easy wins... Only to fail miserably because I didn't understand the class at all.

Now, on to the part where I really want to hear what others think. I have noticed a few things in GW2 that really drive me away from the game.