Old Player back - what do I play

Merlin.4058

@meridianx.9420 said:

@Nymi.4751 said:I starting playing GW2 when it came out in 2012. I played for years. Loved it and have several characters leveled 80. As it goes with most games for me I got bored and moved on. I've been playing FFXIV for the past year and now I'm interested in checking out the new expansion packs. What do you think? Are the expansions worth paying the money and coming back for?

Path of Fire now comes with Heart of Thorns for free. As such, all you would need if you want access to both expansions is 1 purchase of PoF to get started. Value wise it's a great deal.

As alternative you could just start playing since the game has no subscription and you can still access all vanilla content.

I'm a returning player too. Confused about expansions etc. I started playing on release, got a couple of characters in the 50s, and haven't played since a couple of months after release.Now I'm going to start from scratch with a Ranger just for fun to re-learn the game.What am I missing out on if I level to 80 without the expansions? Can I play to 80 then decide if I want to buy the expansions?Also another poster mentioned anniversary level up scrolls. Can these be transferred between characters?

Yes they are account bound.

@meridianx.9420 said:

@"Nymi.4751" said:I starting playing GW2 when it came out in 2012. I played for years. Loved it and have several characters leveled 80. As it goes with most games for me I got bored and moved on. I've been playing FFXIV for the past year and now I'm interested in checking out the new expansion packs. What do you think? Are the expansions worth paying the money and coming back for?

Path of Fire now comes with Heart of Thorns for free. As such, all you would need if you want access to both expansions is 1 purchase of PoF to get started. Value wise it's a great deal.