Asking for tips on playing Revenant

Gyaddum.6145

Hi, I started playing GW2 again a few days ago and decided to try out revenant as I like the concept of the class (I mainly played guardian and ranger until now). Firstly, what is better to run in open world: sword/sword + staff or sword/sword + hammer? Secondly, how should I prioritise my energy? Should I just use my weapon skills in the OW when dealing with mobs, and then use utility skills in certain situations e.g. phase traversal when the enemy is blocking damage etc. If so, when is a good time to use the active abilities like hammers and impossible odds? Thank you for any advice!

Weapon choice can be personal preference, but i would definitely use sword/sword as your main weapons. Staff is probably the best secondary weapon for most people, but if you want a ranged option stick with hammer. The most important part of playing rev is not wasting energy when you swap legends, so try to use up as much as you can before you swap. Energy should be spent mostly on weapon skills. Vengeful hammers and impossible odds should be used when skills are on cd, or if you have some remaining energy to spend before you swap legends.

Open World PvE: Sword + Sword & Hammer OR Sword + Axe & Hammer

Assassin and Dwarf work good for leveling. When on Dwarf you can stick to auto-attacks and use Vengeful Hammers when it is up. Dragon is also quite handy (Heral Elite Specialization). Biggest problem for the Revenant is imho the lack of proper healing-skills. Stick to either Dwarf or Dragon for healing and camp Assassin for DPS against single targets and trash-mobs. Dwarf for bosses and multiple encounters.

If you are mostly doing Open World, the Superior Rune of Vampirism can be a good choice. It pretty much solves the healing issue completely, as long as you do not run out of trash-mobs.