I have a Ranger question.

Wuna.7809

I'm new to GW2 and am around level eight. Do Rangers have to use magic and only certain pets or can I go through the game without magic? I'm guessing Rangers need two land pets and two aquatic pets? I'd like to just use a Norn Raven pet but I'm guessing that is not going to be viable. Sometimes I find I want a pet when I'm leveling my Warrior. I'm not intending this to be a "I want my Ranger to be a Warrior post." Thank you for any information.

@"Wuna.7809" said:I'm new to GW2 and am around level eight. Do Rangers have to use magic and only certain pets or can I go through the game without magic? I'm guessing Rangers need two land pets and two aquatic pets? I'd like to just use a Norn Raven pet but I'm guessing that is not going to be viable. Sometimes I find I want a pet when I'm leveling my Warrior. I'm not intending this to be a "I want my Ranger to be a Warrior post." Thank you for any information.

Welcome to Tyria, fellow ranger!

I'm not entirely sure what you mean by using magic. You're still quite low in level at the moment. As you progress, more utility skills (7-10 on the bar) will become available. Your ranger can use Shouts to help him/herself and allies, or set traps to hamper his/her foes. True, some other utilities seem more "magical" (like summoning spirits or using signets) but I would advise you to try some of them out anyway as they might have more synergy with whatever overall concept you are trying with your character. Remember, pretty much any build works in open world PvE, so experiment and see what works best for you.

I am an extremely casual player and I main a ranger (soulbeast actually). My build is far from optimal, but I enjoy what my character does so I'm happy with it.