Favorite race for engineer? What should my character's theme be?

I've decided to give myself a challenge to rekindle my interest in PvE.

• Level character 1-80
  • 100% core Tyria map completion
  • Engineer
  • No armor/trinkets
  • No mounts
  • No food/buffs
  • Follow a theme (i.e. I pick weapons/traits/skills around this theme even if they are not optimal)

All I have left to decide is what race should I be and what should my characters theme be. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Despite not being a fan of engineer I have quite many of them.Two of them are charr, one is asura and the other one is a sylvari (actually concepted as a mechavari/cybervari).Theoretically, every race could be fine with the right background to the character but I'd definitely go with either charr or asura if you're not into creating entire background stories.Hope that helps!

My two engineers are an asura - for obvious reasons - and a sylvari. The sylvari is an interesting concept; my guy has spent most of his life around charr, working as a scrapper for warbands in the general area he's at, so he uses a lot of their technology (and as little sylvari-inspired stuff as possible...long story short, an encounter with Nightmare scared him so badly he went Soundless and fled as far away from the Grove as humanly possible). So his theme is based around cobbled-together/reworked charr technology - turrets, toolkits, etc., using a rifle and/or twin pistols as his primary weapon(s). He avoids fire and explosives, though...being a plant, he's rather flammable, or at least prone to getting his leaves singed.

Anyway; that's just one justification for a sylvari engineer. You could go the opposite route for a sylvari and give them solely plant- or nature-themed stuff - cultural weapons, seed turrets, maybe elixirs if you imagine that said elixir is made of nectar or dew or whatnot.