Viable power Chrono or core mesmer builds for PVE post nerfs

Burningg.5749

Hey guys I’m pretty much a new player to the game and I’ve been playing for 2 months regularly. I was leveling with Gs/St core power mesmer and recently unlocked Chronomancer. Now I’ve been hearing/reading up that Chrono has been nerfed recently and is unplayable and/or too weak. Also most guides I looked up online are from before the February patch. I would appreciate it if some of my questions were cleared up.

1. Is chronomancer too weak for fractals and eventually raids going forward?
  2. What are some viable power builds for fractals and open world? (I’m down to play core)
  3. Are ranged greatsword builds too inferior to sword builds in terms of dps?

Cheers!

1) Chronomancer has been in a good position dps wise for a bit. Both Sw/Sw + Sw/F and Sw/x + GS are fine (GS being only slightly lower dps than Sw to slightly better situationally). It's great for most all raid bosses (some fights require condi builds, though, in which Mirage will be your better choice). Kind of mediocre for fractals because of the fast paced progression though.

2) Snow Crows or Metabattle are good places to find builds. ( https://metabattle.com/wiki/Mesmer )( https://snowcrows.com/raids/builds/mesmer/chronomancer/power/ ) At the end of the day, though, these are just starting points. Read your skills and traits, learn how they function with each other and in each encounter, and improve on your own. That will always get you farther than trying to imitated guides.

3) Greatsword is, for the most part, lower dps than Sw/x (When looking at the golem); but with enough practice, and knowledge of each encounter you can do around the same dps with both.