Unable to purchase gems [Merged]

I had issues buying gems as well when I started playing the game again this past summer. I tried using multiple different credit cards and paypal, and would always get an error. What fixed it for me was logging into my account on guildwars2.com and going to my account info. There was a field for phone # that I had never filled out. Once I put that in, I was suddenly able to purchase gems in game.

I originally started playing GW2 at launch, so I think that information was not required at that point. Either way, I'm happily buying too many gems now.

• 1 month later...
  • Replies 349
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I had the same problem today, promptly resolved by Customer Service after I posted a ticket.

As I understand it, Gem Purchases are the lifeblood of GW2: they pay to keep the game going. While CS resolved my issue, it's worth fixing the problem for any player. Maybe consider Huzbub's suggestion?

@Huzbub.2491 said:Give us an online web option to purchase Gems.

• 3 months later...

just made a support ticket, so we'll seeit's a shame....ok I could understand a few people here or there....but this is ridiculous.....apparently this has been happening for most everyone and for a while...to the extent that retailers have more than doubled the cost of gem cards (2000 gems for $52, seriously?!)hopefully it gets fixed....I tried 2 different credit cards and paypal and each time an error message would flash for a second and then it'd go back to the main screen....