Do you have a main and what is it and why?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My main is a human female ranger. Human female because I wanted her to be descended from/the latest version of my GW1 character (and they had to be human) and ranger because it's the profession I enjoy most.

I made 4 characters on the first day and it's gone up to 11 since then. I never set rules for myself on which ones I play or how often, I just choose whichever one I feel like when I log in and over time the ranger emerged as a favourite. Although that's not entirely a surprise, I've been playing RPGs for almost 30 years so I've got a fairly good idea of the kind of characters I like and the ranger is the closest fit (with ele a close second).

But it does often depend on what I want to do, I tend to prefer certain characters for certain activities. For example I'm currently doing WvW on my weaver, and I always seem to do Silverwastes on my tempest. My thief is currently assigned to doing dailies, but that rotates between characters on a regular basis. I have a mental list of what everyone is currently doing and pick whichever I feel like when I log in, either to continue what they were doing or to start something new.

I have a habit of deleting characters and remaking them, over and over again - to the annoyance of my girlfriend lol. I want my characters to look exactly the way I intended them to be - sometimes I'll find or design a look that I like even more, and it's fitting to a class I enjoy playing so I'll remake it.

With that being said my main is and has always been ranger and it's the one character I have never deleted or felt the need to redesign (looks wise and in name). It's a human male. I first chose this class because I really liked having a pet companion that never leaves your side. Lately though, anet has been nerfing it severely, and while it's always going to be my "main" I play it less these days.