How do I stop pop up ads in Guild Wars 2 ?

@Hyrai.8720 said:

@Moradorin.6217 said:Yea, also I would suggest NOT using chrome for starters.

I've been using chrome for several years and never had any problems apart from the massive RAM usage.

Yea I just find that chrome is and has always been the most bloated browser with the most odd things running in the background that dont seem to benefit the user so much as benefiting google w data, etc. So in general I would say if you dont like the idea of banner ads and targeted marketing invading your life, its probably the main one to avoid installing.

Guild Wars 2 doesn't have ads. Are you talking about ads on a Google Chrome Tab that you've opened on a separate screen or are you really seeing ads IN Guild Wars 2?

If it's the former I'd advise installing an adblocker. There are several good adblockers in the chrome web store (despide being called a store the addons are all free). Personally I'd recommend Adguard.

If it's the later and you really have ads in GW2, you've caught yourself some adware. That's more or less malicious software designed to show ads to you whenever you use your PC. An Antivirus program might be able to remove the adware, but more often than not the adware isn't recognized as such by the AV-program.

Edit: I'd recommend formatting your PC's hard drive and installing Windows fresh. If you have visible adware on your PC, who knows how many invisible programs you have. Worst case scenario you have a keylogger installed and someone is stealing your passwords. After you've cleared your PC you should also change your passwords.

1. NEVER use Chrome, its kinda slow, heavy RAM usage, heavy ads friendly. I recommend Firefox, heavy customizable, same extension/plugin variety as Chrome, better security and credential safety, low RAM usage, cleaner and less instrusive.
  2. The best extensions for web surfing safety are these: uBlock Origin, Decentraleyes, HTTPS Everywhere.