Need tips to play mesmer

Toturii.2607

Hi, I am fairly new at the game and just running around doing hearts and events.

I was wondering if there are any good tips for lvling a mesmer. I am now at lvl14 with it and figuring it out slowly. Also what weapons best suit this class for damage and defense. Finding gear is a bit sluggish so just wearing what I find so looking like a homeless person at the moment. What stats on armor and weapons must one look for that will benefit me while making my way to 80.

I don't have the expansions yet so can not use anything from there as I am just doing everything with the normal Guild Wars 2 I purchased.

Any help and advice would be much appreciated

Thank you in advance

@Toturii.2607 said:Hi, I am fairly new at the game and just running around doing hearts and events.

I was wondering if there are any good tips for lvling a mesmer. I am now at lvl14 with it and figuring it out slowly. Also what weapons best suit this class for damage and defense. Finding gear is a bit sluggish so just wearing what I find so looking like a homeless person at the moment. What stats on armor and weapons must one look for that will benefit me while making my way to 80.

I don't have the expansions yet so can not use anything from there as I am just doing everything with the normal Guild Wars 2 I purchased.

Any help and advice would be much appreciated

Thank you in advance

Welcome to gw2 and to Mesmer. Basically, I would say while you are leveling up to 80 any gear will do. The gear you get as drops and from the story are usually upgrade enough as you go. Again while leveling up I wouldnt worry about stats too much. Generally speaking, sword and Greatsword are you power weapons and scepter and staff are your condition damage weapons. They can all be fun. Generally, I would say try the weapons and see which you enjoy using while leveling up.