How do i acquire better gear at 80?

I love this game, but the main thing that always had me stumped was getting better gear once you hit lvl 80. I have a Mirage covered in dungeon gear that i bought with dungeon tokens, but i learned that Mirages should have viper gear mainly for the condition damage and expertise. The only issue is that i have no clue on how to get viper gear at all. I feel like a total noob running around in dungeon gear when there is much better gear that benefits my profession. If anyone here can give some advice I'd appreciate it.

If you run in Verdant Brink and get airship parts, you can buy boxes of armor that you can select stats for. Only one that is tricky to get is the chest piece. Need night meta to be a certain point (T4 map I think). That's one of the ways I have gotten armor for my characters that need harder to get stats.

For Exotic gear, you can craft it.

Or you can run through Verdant Brink and farm airship parts to trade for armour boxes. 500 parts + 1g = 1 box. With Glove boxes also having a chance to drop from the Airship Caches that you open to get airship parts.

The tricky part is the chest piece, which you can only obtain through the night meta event, either through drops from the bosses (They are available when the night timer reaches 20 minutes remaining) or you can get a choice box from getting the map meta up to maximum (Tier 4).

There is no easy way to obtain Exotic Weapons with choice stats (You can get Machined Weapons from Dragon's Stand/HoT metas but as it's a collection achievement it's only available once per weapon type) beyond crafting them.

For Ascended gear, you can craft it.

Or you can run Fractals/WvW and get Ascended gear boxes.

You can also complete Specialization collections to obtain an Ascended version of an Elite Specializations weapon with choice stats (Which can be used by any character as like all Ascended gear, it is account bound and doesn't bind to a character on use)