Returning Mesmer struggling in Path of Fire. Some Advice needed, please.

5 years ago I made an account and played a Mesmer up to level 80, because I liked the idea of an illusionist class. Little did I know how hard or useful the class was at the time, because I was just playing solo open world content.

When I hit cap, I crafted level 80 orange gear and weapons for myself. Power and Precisions, I think. I tried to group up for dungeons just for fun, I ran dozens of them, even collected dungeon gear to wear cosmetically.

However, the amount of hate I got in those groups just for being a mesmer made me quit the game eventually. I think the class was considered very weak at the time, and it didn't help that I was a noob.

Now, 5 years later, I'd like to just play the expansion stories (HoTH, PoF). I'd like to unlock my mounts. However, I find it too hard. I need advice on which weapons, masteries and stats are recommended for a beginner Memser. For the moment, my only goal is to be able to get through the story and collect the mounts. Thank you.

@"Xaelh.2985" said:5 years ago I made an account and played a Mesmer up to level 80, because I liked the idea of an illusionist class. Little did I know how hard or useful the class was at the time, because I was just playing solo open world content.

When I hit cap, I crafted level 80 orange gear and weapons for myself. Power and Precisions, I think. I tried to group up for dungeons just for fun, I ran dozens of them, even collected dungeon gear to wear cosmetically.

However, the amount of hate I got in those groups just for being a mesmer made me quit the game eventually. I think the class was considered very weak at the time, and it didn't help that I was a noob.