How much DPS is "enough"?

@"Day Trooper.3605" said:Quick question all, and forgive my complete ignorance as I’ve never used a dps meter before. When you say dps, that does mean ‘damage per second’ right? If so, some folks can really do 35k damage each second?

As a follow-up, what is decent mesmer dps?

Note that when people say "35k dps," they mean on the test golem with all the boons and conditions applied to it (trying to simulate a full party with optimal role divisions and support). Set those toggles correctly before you go "hmm, why am I only doing 12k???"

Watch a benchmark video and it should hopefully be clearer:

(The test golem will tell you your game-calculated DPS every few seconds, so an external monitor like ArcDPS is not required.)

@AliamRationem.5172 said:

@"uberkingkong.8041" said:How are you finding your dps? How do you turn it on?

Funny thing, everybody on forums "its ok to do this amount"Everybody in game "kick that guy, he is the issue, look at his dps"

There is no built-in dps meter. Players use third-party software called arcdps. And while I in no way condone players sniping at each other over dps, I haven't personally found this to be in issue in T4 fractals as long as I avoid runs that specifically ask for experienced players.

2k-5k is enough anyone saying otherwise is toxic( not uncommon thinking) just play the build you like dont need to listen to anyone forcing you to play something you dont want to

Yes, if you want to spend 20 hours doing a raid fullclear and three hours doing CMs + T4s + Recs in fractals. And probably one or two hours for strikes. Have fun. Do whatever you want, aslong as you stay out of groups that are asking for experience or efforts, thank you. If you join such groups, yes, you do need to listen, and you are the one being toxic by imposing your game standards to the group.