Accidentally Salvaging Precursor Chaos Gun

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the game and recently found out that the exotic pistol Chaos Gun is a precursor for the legendary pistol Quip. I salvaged it a few days ago as I did not know it was a precursor, hence, I submitted a ticket requesting for it to be restored.

Unfortunately, the outcome was unfavorable. I was told that because I could still craft it, I would not be able to have it restored. I inserted a link in my email to another forum whereby other users had their precursors restored due to the accidental salvage but I was told that those players were unable to obtain another precursor since they have already crafted it once. Does this mean that veteran players who crafted precursors before and accidentally salvaging their dropped precursor can have it restored? Whereas on the other hand, new players like us who are learning the ropes of the game are denied this request simply because we are able to craft the item as we have yet to craft it.

In the case of veteran players, the final outcome would be that they had a total of 2 precursors, the first being the one they crafted by themselves and the second being a lucky drop.Whereas for the case of newer players like me, we would also have 2 precursors in the end but we got lucky and had it dropped first before we can craft it.In both cases, the outcome is that both players would have 2 precursors. However, the first case whereby veterans accidentally salvaging their precursors had it restored whereas newer players like me were denied the request.