I need some help with Necro 101.

Fallesafe.5932

Hey there. I've been playing a power daredevil for the last three years. And I decided to make a necro to help with daily farming of LWS3 materials. According to Metabattle, condi scourge was my best choice for this (http://metabattle.com/wiki/Build:Scourge_-_Condi_Scourge ). So I spent this afternoon putting together a set of trailblazer gear, went out to farm the maps, and realized I didn't have a clue what I was doing. I'm getting killed by trash mobs and doing like 1.5k dps (lol). All I really want to do with this character is eat up groups of trash mobs very quickly in the open world. And I've got two quick questions:

1) Is condi scourge the best choice for this purpose, or is there a better build? I'm just looking for a fast, easy, trash-mob lawnmower.2) Can anybody recomend any good gameplay guides for this class? Spamming skills isn't working too well for me.

In open world you're better off going full viper's as you would be doing much more damage and that adds to your survivability because you will kill enemies faster than they kill you. Make sure you are proccing Dhuumfire at the right time, using your barriers, placing your shades (making sure to have at least two always out), and making sure you use your skills according to the priority list. Spamming skills no longer works on Scourge. Personally I'd say you're better off on Power Reaper; amazing cleave, though relies on melee but this is where Spectral Grasp and Grasping Darkness become your friends, and the tool that you will use to deal your highest damage will also be protecting your health i.e. Reaper's Shroud. More often than not in open world, power damage will always be better than condi damage as you will kill things with power damage in half the time it will take you to ramp up those condis on a condi build (Firebrand being the exception).