Switching to Zen 3?

Hi allWas just wondering if anyone was considering a Zen 3 purchase in the near future, given the reported single thread gains over Intel. Or would it be worth sticking with Intel? Thinking about an upgrade soon so comments/advice would be appreciated! I'm not an expert on benchmarks etc. but this is one of many articles that are making me think about switching https://www.bit-tech.net/news/tech/cpus/the-amd-ryzen-5-5600x-beats-intel-in-passmark-single-thread-benchmarks/1/

It looks like roughly 20% more single core performance than the 7700K/8700K-type chips that many people are still hanging onto, unless you were one of the folks who bought a 10900K then it really isn't a worthy upgrade.

Even so, world event and WvW zergs can drop below 20 FPS even on monster computers, and 20% more than 20 FPS is still only 24 FPS or so. Granted this is an oversimplification of how PC's actually process things, but it still makes the point: it's not going to be a huge difference just because of how Guild Wars 2 is.

No matter how good your hardware is, world event and WvW zergs are still going to tank your framerate well below your typical average.

@lare.5129 said:you can relax and bu any cpu and any card. No matter that you buy on wvw or any other mass action wiht maximum setting you will get fantastic frame drop fall ..So you will anyway prevent get some compromises whit settings.

I guess it's more about minimising the need to compromise with settings changes - I know that, whatever I end up getting, I'll have to dial things back a bit.

@Emberstone.2904 said:It looks like roughly 20% more single core performance than the 7700K/8700K-type chips that many people are still hanging onto, unless you were one of the folks who bought a 10900K then it really isn't a worthy upgrade.