Understanding gear for WvW and PvP

Meep.3052

Hello all,I am new to GW2 and am loving the smooth combat system in this game. I haven't had this much fun since Warhammer Online back in its heyday.

I have levelled up a thief and a ranger almost exclusively through sPvP, as I have limited game time and am not that interested in PvE or crafting. I am looking to get into WvW, but I am a bit overwhelmed with all of the information about gear and am looking for some help. Specifically, I am wondering if some kind soul could explain what I should be doing to gear up for WvW? Are all of the exotic gear sets the same aside from cosmetics? What reward tracks should I be focusing on? I have already started getting the Warclaw (thanks to Mukluk for the tutorial).

Thanks in advance for your help.

Meep the Wanderer

WvW is a mix of PvP and PvE content kind of.In sPvP all gear is the same, it's standardized. In WvW it's not, you have what you take with you fom PvE (or any exotic armor that you might have gotten in PvP reward tracks etc.).So no, everyone uses their PvE equipment in WvW and they're not the same like in PvP.

As to what you should be doing, look up a build you want to play, get exotic or better armor and weapons with the stats that compliment your build and just dive in.In WvW (as opposed to PvE), gear with +toughness and +vitality is usually more preferable than something like Berserker's gear in PvE because you're fighting real people and unlike PvP, in WvW the AOE spam from hundreds of people can get pretty intense. You need all the help you can get from gear to survive that, and a good team.

Even if you're roaming, all that damage won't do you any good if you're easily one shotted.