Intel-chip Mac dual boot with Linux + WINE + GW2 for Windows

Leo.3428

Following ArenaNet's short notice that they are dropping the game's Mac client, I'm looking for a solution for my wife to be able to continue playing the game on her Intel-chip Mac. I have some experience with Windows-Linux dual booting, but I know close to nothing about Mac computers. I get a sense that Mac-Linux dual boot is popular, at least among developers.

I'm not looking to be spoon-fed instructions, I can search the web and learn about Mac, but I would appreciate the opinion of people who already tried this configuration to play the game and can tell if the performance makes it worth the effort. I know there is a Linux thread here which is immensely long and I don't know if it mentions Mac computers.

Thank you in advance.

PS: Not looking to use Bootcamp and pay for a Windows license just for one game.

first download and burn a ISO to a USB stick one of the easiest to use for newbies is Ubuntu if you want a more Mac like interface i recommend Ubuntu budgie https://ubuntubudgie.org/

Next to boot from the USB hold down the option button as you turn on the computer. Then just follow the onscreen instruction for the installer (I can't say if partition resizing on HFS partitions)

as far as installing GW2 on Linux the first post on the lengthy thread has a wrapper for GW2 and intrusions on how to install it. it works great out of the box, but you may experience shader cache related stuttering if you are on a hard drive and not a solid state drive.

as far as optimizing Linux to get it to game better here is a great guide for it and even links to a video walkthrough of the process https://christitus.com/ultimate-linux-gaming-guide/

good luck