Is Guardian support overplayed ?

Sengo.7025

Im new to the game and I always liked playing tanky/support/healers so from what I see Firebrand seems to be the way to go in the game.But what is concerning me is that I also saw that Guardian is the most played class and I want to feel a bit special and not see my class everywhere.

Therefore I would like to ask you if Firebrand healers are everywhere or whether I should play it as my first character since I will be in demand.If not, what would be other viable options for PvP and PvE in terms of supports ?Much appreciated !

For WvW and PvE it is a solid class and despite the complaining about how it is weak it is quite common in PvP as well (currently common in burn iterations).The only other class that provides quickness is Chronomancer right now and Boon Thief/Daredevil in a few select instanced raids and strikes (Freezie aka Snowman's Lair) so its PVE dominance will continue.For WvW it's the most common source of stability via Firebrand spec.

Of course if you want to play tanky in WvW/PvP then you probably want to play Tactics Spellbreaker. For acting tanky in PVE without resorting to toughness gear generally I would say that heal druid or renegade is better.

@Sengo.7025 said:Therefore I would like to ask you if Firebrand healers are everywhere or whether I should play it as my first character since I will be in demand.

My main is a Guardian and I never have trouble getting into any group, be it as DPS or Healer.

If not, what would be other viable options for PvP and PvE in terms of supports ?

Druid (Ranger Elite Specialization) or Heal Support Elementalist (not a fan of that one, though). Also, there are Heal Scourges (i.e., Necromancer), but they are mostly used for Barrier and their ability to teleport downed allies.