What's the purpose of splitblade?

Eilah.7908

hey, i'm kinda new to ranger here and wanted to ask, what's the deal with splitblade [axe 2]? With all other axe skills being pretty good power hits, and the axe trait pushing the weapon even more into a power role, it seems weird to have the 2 skill be so lacking in damage. it doesn't even seem worth running axe on a condi build, because splitblade's bleed duration isn't all that impressive now that dagger is in the game. Is there some niche are where splitblade is useful, or is it just one of those skills that's been dying for a rework? I'd love to see it brought more in line for power, with some increased damage and maybe have the bleed traded out for vuln.

For Ranger, MH axe is more of a hybrid weapon than a strict power weapon. Axe 1 and 3 are pretty focused on power damage, while Axe 2 and 3 provide high duration bleeds. The Might from Axe 1 still provides condi damage, but in high end content such as fractals or raids that’s usually irrelevant.

Main hand dagger is now a main hand condi (still kinda a hybrid weapon) option, but you should instead look at the entire class when looking weapon choices. MH dagger is only usable while you are Soulbeast, so for base Ranger the only MH condi weapon available would be Axe. If that gets reworked into a strictly power weapon, base Ranger would have no MH condi weapon.

As a power weapon, Axe is still very good. Looking at Soulbeast benchmarks in instances PvE (fractals and raids), Axe is only about 3% less power DPS compared to MH Sword and Dagger.

On SnowCrows and MetaBattle, which focus on meta builds for PvE content, Axe is currently one of the go to MH weapons for Condi Soulbeast (Axe+Dagger / Dagger+Torch), but this may mostly be due to offhand Dagger getting some very substantial buffs to make the Axe+Dagger combo better than Shortbow.