Fishing Event (Redeeming IG-6417) bugged [merged] — Guild Wars 2 Forums

Fishing Event (Redeeming IG-6417) bugged [merged]

Amnesiak.8619Amnesiak.8619 Member
edited March 22, 2018 in Bugs: Game, Forum, Website

As many know by now, the fishing event in Sandswept Isles has got to be bugged. People (including myself) have spent hours sitting at their screen waiting for it to pop. We've had people on 15+ different maps, with tons of variables. It seems as if only a fresh map can trigger this event, and after it ends it can't respawn. Please fix this. There and tons of people waiting to finish this event as their last Mark Y collection piece.

Tagged:
<13

Comments

  • After the week long time gated period of having to install the other components IG-6417 refuses to accept the final module necessary to complete the achievement.

    After having acquired an "Inquest password" then installing the following modules over the next 7 literal days time-gate MV-337, GP-739, HR-874, ZN-290, JT-609 and KL-411 the golem in Sandswept Isle by name of IG-6417 located south west of the POI lab sigma-5 refuses to accept the Module XD-356 EVEN AFTER having taken it to Hero-Tron in lion's arch to get the "Revised Module XD-356"

    As a result the item sits dead in the inventory unable to be turned in nor the achievement to be completed.

    Speaking to IG-6417 only results in the dialog "Error: Systems diagnostics failure. Software Model XD-356 corrupt."

  • MashMash.1645MashMash.1645 Member ✭✭
    edited March 15, 2018

    Same. I have the revised module and it doesn't work.

    I hope they fix this before the META in Istan that is necessary to do dies (again).

    Update: OK, seem's I had to visit the broken golem first, then visit hero tron, then go back to the broken golem. As per this post on reddit, if you go to hero tron without talking to the broken golem first it breaks the quest chain.

    I had to go and get another module and then it worked fine.

    I've always wondered what it would be like to go to the mists. It'll be an adventure... - Magister Sieran

  • Inculpatus cedo.9234Inculpatus cedo.9234 Member ✭✭✭✭

    Did you speak to the NPC that starts the event?

  • Amnesiak.8619Amnesiak.8619 Member
    edited March 15, 2018

    @Inculpatus cedo.9234 said:
    Did you speak to the NPC that starts the event?

    The NPCs are bugged. Teyrna (the child) never goes up to Kel (the fish seller). The child is always standing by the water or next to Kel, but never interacts with Kel. Their interaction is supposed to trigger the option to start the event. I've attempted talking to both. Kel has no interact button. The child does, but the interact yields nothing; they say and do nothing and remain in place.

  • I've been in a squad trying to get this event to spawn for hours today, and for several hours last night. We've tried everything we can think of to get it working. We've spread out across several IPs, we've tried zerging to force a new IP, we've done the meta, let the meta rest, tried day, night, rain, no rain. We can't get Teyrna to talk to Kel at all.

  • Thanks for the heads up. I wish I hadn't stayed up so late last night waiting for it.

  • Pifil.5193Pifil.5193 Member ✭✭✭✭

    That's great Dara, thanks so much for letting us know!

    I'll watch for people asking about this in game but it'd be good if you guys had a way of communicating these things to players in-game in order to reduce player frustration.

    Maybe something like an interact-able object like a sign-post on the beach that pops up a message. If that's too awkward then maybe send people an in game mail about these issues.

  • Thanks, Dara. Yeah the communication is really frustrating though. Many people, including myself, waited for hours yesterday; stayed up especially late hoping it would come up. Not only that, but now many people are stuck with 9+ inventory slots taken up by modules you can't input until after you turn in the fishing recording. Ideally it wouldn't be bugged, but the majority of player frustration is definitely in lack of communication. It's been days of people sitting and waiting. Also, what constitutes a release? Would it be lumped in with a bug fix quick patch, or would we have to wait weeks/months for the next large release? :(

  • I assume the next release would coincide with the Super Adventure Box festival that starts around April 1. That's two weeks away, give or take. Festivals start without having to patch them in now, so I don't know if that counts.

  • so in bug report it gives option for blocking progress why not mass send out the item to all those on the final part with a sorry in the in game mail cause asking us to wait for two and a half months when its a fishing event , why did a fishing event get tied to a meta event in the first place , cant the fix just be to have the fishing even spawn every 10-15minutes as its not like people wanna fish we want an inquest robot back pack lol

  • isnt there away to fix it like the old nevermore bug where you just redo a working event twice to get the item @Dara Potocska.8196 or even just take it out the collection full stop and you guys fix the event when ever and the community can move on cause people arnt there to wanna fish my self im happy to just be mailed the item or redo the gathering storms meta event, kill all the bounties on the map again ,even kill all bounties on all the POF maps ,even play through the whole story start to end than wait two n half months lol

  • Giotto.2607Giotto.2607 Member ✭✭

    i mean at least let us turn in rest of the recordings other than 9 slot in bag being used.

  • Ayrilana.1396Ayrilana.1396 Member ✭✭✭✭

    @Greyling.4768 said:
    I assume the next release would coincide with the Super Adventure Box festival that starts around April 1. That's two weeks away, give or take. Festivals start without having to patch them in now, so I don't know if that counts.

    Could be Tuesday.

  • There was a fishing event!?

  • @Leo Schrodingers Cat.2497 said:
    There was a fishing event!?

    Is an event/quest for the Inquest Backpack Collection, it was added with the Living World Season 4: A bug in the system.

  • Urud.4925Urud.4925 Member ✭✭✭

    @PeskieDoodle.7824 said:
    isnt there away to fix it like the old nevermore bug where you just redo a working event twice to get the item @Dara Potocska.8196 or even just take it out the collection full stop and you guys fix the event when ever and the community can move on cause people arnt there to wanna fish my self im happy to just be mailed the item or redo the gathering storms meta event, kill all the bounties on the map again ,even kill all bounties on all the POF maps ,even play through the whole story start to end than wait two n half months lol

    I got lost after the first line. There were a lot of bugs in this A Bug In The System. They are working to solve them, sooner or later (https://help.guildwars2.com/hc/en-us/articles/231272908-Known-Issue-Tracker). I guess the storyline has the priority (I waited 1 week before starting it, 'cause I was sure that something might have been bugged). I'm also waiting for the fishing event and the 3 golems, but let's be patient a bit.
    Good thing that some player posted a group in LFG saying "Fishing event temporarily disabled", yesterday, so at least many of us avoided to wait for nothing (not all of us check the forum everyday).

  • Drecien.4508Drecien.4508 Member ✭✭✭

    I went to hero tron first and it bugged. Went to the console and got the item again and talked to the broken golem and then to hero tron and it worked. Now on to the bugged recordings...

    30 Beautiful new mount skins?! Anet take my money!

  • @Dara Potocska.8196 said:
    Hey everyone,
    Thank you for your reports. This event was temporarily disabled last night due to an element in the event causing a server crash. We missed some steps that would have helped us in getting this messaged out to the community. We know that this will block many of you from being able to complete the collection for a bit, but we hope to have a fix out with our next release. We apologize for failing to get this information to you sooner and thank you for your patience while we work on getting this fixed asap.

    Hey Dara,
    your info is greatly appreciated (avoiding unnecessary waiting time).
    But is there a specific reason this one never appeared on the known issue tracker? (https://help.guildwars2.com/hc/en-us/articles/231272908-Known-Issue-Tracker)
    Should someone file an ingame bug report to get it on the issue tracker's list?

    --Aloha, Mascaren.

  • Susy.7529Susy.7529 Member ✭✭✭

    Come on, fix this event already!!! :angry:

  • Locce.8405Locce.8405 Member ✭✭✭

    I really hope the fix comes this Tuesday, so that I can get this over with. The whole collection is not that well thought through to begin with. The fishing event recording is the only one missing for me, but I can't even run around holding the recording device, because every time I play with a different alt char I get a duplicate of a recording I already have (even ones I have already turned in) and waste one device. And until this is fixed all the recordings I can't turn in yet just take up inventory space, quite a lot of it actually.
    Please do not do another collection after this pattern again until you have worked out these kinks, Anet. It is really a completely unnecessary bother.

  • Ray Koopa.2354Ray Koopa.2354 Member ✭✭✭
    edited March 17, 2018

    Can't you just put in the recording device into your bank until the fix is out to not risk it getting wasted?

  • Malerine.5762Malerine.5762 Member ✭✭
    edited March 17, 2018

    @Galeskyring.9617 you were too fast. As you went to arc of lion before trying to give the regular version to Ig. Now in your bag you don t have it any more. Revised one isn t the regular one.
    To solve go again take the old one ( i hope you still have the passeword) with the 2 in your bag it will work. I know cause i made same mistake

  • stone cold.8609stone cold.8609 Member ✭✭✭

    Has this been fixed yet?

  • reapex.8546reapex.8546 Member ✭✭✭

    @stone cold.8609 said:
    Has this been fixed yet?

    no patch, so haven't been fixed

  • @Urud.4925 we were the ones that held a multi map asking people to see if it was really bugged and to send in screen shots on the bug report with different weather/meta stages/ pass or fails and we got about 16 people to send the bug report wasnt till 24 hours later when for the first time we came on the forum to double check why it was staying bugged that we noticed after a day later that it had been posted so we changed the squad to let people know and also tried to get the word out in game , the day it crashed the server i was in a party checking other maps i got dc'd and the other person i was with map actually had the event and i couldnt rejoin the game from the events crashes for 2 hours so tried to get a result for every one after i had got that close to the goal :D

  • Please do not do another collection after this pattern again until you have worked out these kinks, Anet. It is really a completely unnecessary bother.

    Yes, this design pattern caused all sorts of problems with legendary collections too. Simply Anet doesn't seem to have the capability for this type of content.

  • Ashantara.8731Ashantara.8731 Member ✭✭✭✭

    @Greyling.4768 said:
    I assume the next release would coincide with the Super Adventure Box festival that starts around April 1. That's two weeks away, give or take.

    I hope it will not take that long! I want to get those recordings out of my inventory. :(

  • reapex.8546reapex.8546 Member ✭✭✭

    @Ashantara.8731 said:

    @Greyling.4768 said:
    I assume the next release would coincide with the Super Adventure Box festival that starts around April 1. That's two weeks away, give or take.

    I hope it will not take that long! I want to get those recordings out of my inventory. :(

    Anet normally does patches on Tuesdays. So, the fishing event will probably be fixed this upcoming Tuesday.

  • crepuscular.9047crepuscular.9047 Member ✭✭✭✭

    probably easier just mail out the recording to all players have the collection active like the PoF backpack, it's clogging up our bags :s

    [RIP Fashion Wars 2005-2018]     [TTS] [KA] [SI]     [RIP Fashion Wars 2005-2018]
  • Belishine.7493Belishine.7493 Member ✭✭✭

    i have tryed this on friday for a good amount of time and it never poped for me. i was tald it was to show up a few times and it never poped for me ples fix this so i can get my recording

  • crepuscular.9047crepuscular.9047 Member ✭✭✭✭

    @Belishine.7493 said:
    i have tryed this on friday for a good amount of time and it never poped for me. i was tald it was to show up a few times and it never poped for me ples fix this so i can get my recording

    i seen it pop up once, think it was last Thursday or Friday afternoon, but it seems like everyone that was near it got kicked off the server
    came back, same ip, but the quest disappeared

    [RIP Fashion Wars 2005-2018]     [TTS] [KA] [SI]     [RIP Fashion Wars 2005-2018]
  • Linken.6345Linken.6345 Member ✭✭✭✭

    I saw it up two times before friday lucky i had the collection recorder on the second one.

  • Aeon.4127Aeon.4127 Member ✭✭
    edited March 20, 2018

    Any news? 9 Spots in my inventory, and aside from looking on the forums you have several clueless players sitting by the beach side getting po'd on a regular for waiting several mins/hrs.

  • Dear devs? Maybe you can update us somehow? Would be highly appreciated. Thank you!

  • WTB Fix please.. or at-least allowing to turn in the other recordings to free of inventory space till you are able to fix. Make a little openness as well. That all ways helps.

  • stone cold.8609stone cold.8609 Member ✭✭✭

    Has there been any word from ANet on this? I just checked in game and it looks like it is still broken. When will a fix be implemented?

  • Trae.2384Trae.2384 Member ✭✭✭

    @Dara Potocska.8196 said:
    Hey everyone,
    Thank you for your reports. This event was temporarily disabled last night due to an element in the event causing a server crash. We missed some steps that would have helped us in getting this messaged out to the community. We know that this will block many of you from being able to complete the collection for a bit, but we hope to have a fix out with our next release. We apologize for failing to get this information to you sooner and thank you for your patience while we work on getting this fixed asap.

    Can you define "for a bit" kind sir?

  • Its probably not getting fixed till the patch next week :/

  • Linken.6345Linken.6345 Member ✭✭✭✭

    Well patches are tuesday and asap sound like a fix they push out so could be today if we are lucky

  • Im not bothered about being able to complete the achi if the event causes crashes thats fine but please please please can we get a workaround sooner than the patch so we can at least hand in the 9 other recordings that are stuck taking up inventory space.

  • @Linken.6345 said:
    Well patches are tuesday and asap sound like a fix they push out so could be today if we are lucky

    I logged in this morning, Wednesday and usually there is an update after Tuesdays patch.There was non this time, so no patch at all ?

  • @Gwyllion Redsky.5241 said:

    @Linken.6345 said:
    Well patches are tuesday and asap sound like a fix they push out so could be today if we are lucky

    I logged in this morning, Wednesday and usually there is an update after Tuesdays patch.There was non this time, so no patch at all ?

    Patches tend to be after noon , at least that's what i've noticed in EST.

  • Laureh.2097Laureh.2097 Member ✭✭

    NO. No patch not fixed see if there is a patch next Tuesday.

  • The thing being broken is crude.. but the silence and lack of communication is kinda worse..

  • Anet releasing a balance update on next Tuesday. According to https://www.guildwars2.com/en/news/pvp-league-season-11-balance-updates-and-super-adventure-festival-are-coming-soon/ if one of these patches?

  • Deepcuts.9740Deepcuts.9740 Member ✭✭✭

    To not start a new topic, quick question.
    On 3rd console, I get login failed and I do not get the item.
    I delivered the first two items to IG-6417.
    As far as I understand, the timegate is at IG-6417 and not for collecting the actual items.
    Am I wrong?

  • Ayakaru.6583Ayakaru.6583 Member ✭✭✭✭

    The revised module works, but you NEED to have presented the golem with the bad module FIRST.
    if you forgot to do that, and immediately fixed the module, then it won't accept it because you skipped a piece of dialogue

    To defeat the dragons, see the good in them.
    Zhaitan reunites lost ones, primordus creates fertile land, mordremoth spreads the green, and jormag..
    ..jormag? Who's that?

  • Good day friends,
    Thank you for the report on the module. We're working on a fix!

    QA Embed
    Punmaster
    Lord Faren Fanclub Member

  • That's great Dara! But can you at least give us some sort of timetable or guesstimate as to when we can expect a fix?

<13
©2010–2018 ArenaNet, LLC. All rights reserved. Guild Wars, Guild Wars 2, Heart of Thorns, Guild Wars 2: Path of Fire, ArenaNet, NCSOFT, the Interlocking NC Logo, and all associated logos and designs are trademarks or registered trademarks of NCSOFT Corporation. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.