Is gw2 really a great community?

Honestly, one of the things that's kept me playing this game is the community. I started playing back in February of 2016, and one of the things I immediately noticed right off the bat was how friendly and willing-to-help people were. Players have gone out of their way many times to help me out (I've returned the favor), and it's a drastic difference to what I see with most other games. I've tried WoW out numerous times and have found that GW2 is in general just a far friendlier community. I've always appreciated Anet for designing the game to support this type of cooperative behavior, as I've never really been that competitive of a person and would rather spend my time enjoying playing a game with people rather than dreading it.

One of the most recent indications of how welcoming the community is was when the whole Bless Online fiasco occurred which sent a flood of new players to GW2. There were mentors all over the place in Queensdale helping people learn about the game, and reddit was full of topics containing helpful information. It was really awesome to watch and participate in.

Yes, there are occasionally a few people who try to ruin the fun for others, but it's very rare and people are often quick to shut them down.

I don't dabble in PvP/WvW much (not my preferred playstyle), but in PvE for sure the community is pretty great compared to other games.

• Replies 109
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I wouldn't call it great, but it's certainly above average.

Compared to the toxic cesspit in places like WOW, it's night and day, but that's a low bar to clear to be honest. GW2 still has a lot of elitism and jerks, but if you stay out of PVP and Raids you never need to deal with them.

I would say GW2 community is definitely better.