Beginner confused regarding builds.

MCFly.9578

Hello,I'm new to GW2 and a bit confused about the skilling possibilities. In order to avoid that I ruin my char from the beginning because of wrong skilling I wanted to check how to build my preferred profession properly. Unfortunately I noticed that there are different builds for different ocassions. There are builds for WvW, open pve, factals and raids...So, I'm not sure what to do. Can I save different builds so that I can switch between them or do I have to unlearn everything everytime I want to do something else?

Until now I have not bought the two add ons. I want to get an impression of the game first before I buy the add ons. If I'm not wrong there are less character slots than possible professions. but I want to try out every profession. Do I get more slots when I buy the add ons or is there another way to get more char slots?

Thx in advanced

Once you hit lv80 you will be able to unlock EVERY skill and trait for your profession. And you can swap them on the fly when you're out of combat. So there is no way of ruining your character by just unlocking skills while leveling from 1 to 80.

Just pick what looks fun to you and eventually you will unlock everything.

I think that F2P accounts have 2 character slots and if you buy any expansion you can have 5 character slots in total so you will have to buy 4 more character slots for gems - ingame currency. One character slot costs 800 gems which is about 240 gold or a few $. But you can just try out any profession and then salvage your gear/put it into your bank and delete the character to create a new one.

once unlocked you can switch out skills, traits and traitlines whenever you're out of combat. (this extends to the especs from the expansions) so ruining your character is impossible

you can't save builds tho.

as for character slots: yes, you get more when you're B2P. 5 total initially iirc and more can be bought on the gemstore