The Swipe Change Is Lazy Development

omgdracula.6345

As a developer myself doing both web development and UX/UI I have to think about trade offs everyday. Does changing this benefit the overall experience? How will this impact the overall experience? Is this change a band aid solution or a positive change? What negative ramifications can this change have? I feel none of these questions were asked when deciding to change Swipe to what it is.

Does this change benefit the overall experience?No it does not. Thieves lost half the range on steal for what? A more or less useless unblockable with nothing else added to help us actually meet the ideal that Daredevil is a "brawler". We also lost D/P as a decent build.

How will this impact the overall experience?Thieves lost a build to gain really nothing. S/D didn't get better. S/P is usable, but those builds both use all core thief traits so daredevil is honestly just worse. Deadeye at least FULLY was built to meet the ideal of a sniper. Ranged steal that keeps you at range, and its own set of skills that fit that play style that was envisioned.

Is this change a bandaid solution or positive change?This was clearly a bandaid fix that was added quickly to add a "tradeoff" to DD that probably should have had more time in development and on the drawing table. It is crazy to see the smart ideas used on deadeye(mentioned above) not carried over to daredevil to help succeed at meeting the brawler idea.

What negative ramifications could this change have?D/P suffered and nothing was gained. Which means there were more negative ramifications than positive(none). I get that the goal was to add a tradeoff but gimping a build that was the only build to heavily use DD besides the gimmick staff build leaving thieves with a build that uses core specs is silly to say the least.