Is Ascended gear even worth it?

As a newb, I can't get my head around the value of Ascended vs. Exotic gear.

For example, here's two leggings with stats:

Ahmid's Tassets: Defense 254, Power 94, Toughness 67, Vitality 67

Soldiers Draconic: Defense 242, Power 90, Toughness 64, Vitality 64

The ascended piece takes a LOT of components and time to acquire.The exotic piece is currently available on TP for 1g 20s.The difference in stats seems quite underwhelming.Am I missing something here?

Well, scale it up to 12 pieces of equipment + weapons and the stat difference becomes far more notable. Just go piece by piece, look at it as a journey. Maybe you get lucky and drop the parts you need. Otherwise you can simply stat change armor and weapons you drop.

When an account is young, Ascended certainly isn't needed. But as gold starts piling up and there is less desirable stuff to spend it on, then it becomes a worthy goal.

Or if you are into Fractals, where it is required for high end due to AR. Or elite-level activities where only the best gear is "allowed."

Price wise? No.

It depends on what type of content you want to play. Fractals and the required agony resistance make ascended gear a requirement further up (and reward players with better loot tables at the top end).

Raids, while beneficial to have as much bang for your buck, do not require ascended. It's even beneficial to rather get multiple exotic sets on multiple characters for different roles.

The general consensus is this:

• get ascended trinkets if possible (since most of these are comparatively cheap to get), their stat bonus is by far the highest with up to 12.5% more stats than exotic
  • next get ascended weapons if possible, again a very high value of increased stats (I think it was around 10%) but more important the higher base damage is very beneficial
  • finally get ascended armor only if you intend to do high level fractals, or if you have nothing else to get