Is P/P condi Scrapper any good?

Creaitov.6328

I'm a fairly new engineer player and I've been running this for a couple days while roaming, is it any good?

Sustain and condi application seem pretty strong, but with little to no cleave. Also it seems weak to CC so blocking/evading those skills are top priority.

Any thoughts? I very rarely see a condi engi on the wild so I'm a little bit curious lol.

@Vagrant.7206 said:In what game mode? WvW or PvE?

WvW, solo/small scale roaming to be more specific.

@"Jaruselka.5943" said:From a purely WvW perspective playing an engineer with pistols is a waste of time regardless of specialization. They are slow, CC's are too easily cleared and have little to no power. Can't really say how effective they are in PvE or PvP.

I dunno, sure it is no thief but you still have access to permaswiftness from kits and a short leap from elixir gun. Out of combat you have the warclaw so mobility doesn't even matter there lol.

When you say CC's are too easily cleared I suppose you're talking about condis, and I agree that condi cleanses are pretty strong atm (antitoxin runes anyone? :x), but I think P/P (+ kits) condi application is fast and varied enough to be able to overcome this.

For reference, this is what I'm running: link

I've thought about replacing firearms with inventions and going pistol/shield for more tankyness but I feel you would lose a huge amount of damage. If I were to do that I think its better to just drop condis completely and go for your typical power holo build with shield.

Well... Yes. People claiming its not good dont know what they're talking about.