Where to find dyes? How much is reasonable to pay?

Hi everyone!

I just started playing GW2. As a female, I’ve noticed there are a lack of good pink dyes that aren’t pricey on the trade post. Electro Pink is 21g, but I have no idea what the weight of currency is and if I can find it from a vendor cheaper or by completing events.

Could anyone give me some guidance on where to find dyes, and how much is a respectable amount to spend?

You may or may not find this wiki article helpful:

https://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Dye#Acquisition

Dyes are obtained either from TP purchase, crafting unidentified, birthday gifts, mystic forging lower tier dyes for a chance of a better one, and the RNG gem store kits when available. In the case of RNG gem store dye kits you are most always better off buying the dyes you want from them from the TP instead of spending gems hoping for luck. As you are a new player the ones available from birthday gifts won't be an option for a few years as they are part of later birthday rewards. You will get a few dye options as level rewards as well but they are the cheap dyes.

As for what you should spend on the TP for dyes you want, you spend what you think they are worth to you. You can put in a buy order and wait for it to get filled or buy at the current sell price. For example the current buy order for Electro Pink Dye is 15 gold 23 silver 20 copper so you could put in a buy order for 15 gold 24 silver and see if someone sells it to you instead of paying the current sell price of 21 gold.

The trading post is player driven so the prices often reflect what players feel is a respectable amount to spend on the items listed there based on the current supply and demand.