Cannot start the Launcher - "Connection error(s) detected. Retrying...

Wrymn.9253

Okay I am kinda stuck here, I get:

"Connection error(s) detected. Retrying..."

any time opening the Launcher. I have been playing the game for the past several months at my home, this comes out of nowhere just now.

- I uninstalled the game, only to figure out installing it also requires the launcher, which again gives me this error

- no windows update between my last session when it was working

- tried disabling firewall completely, nothing

- of course, official help did not solve the issue either: https://appuals.com/connection-error-detected-in-guild-wars-2/

- tried restarting the router, restarting PC, nothing

- executing "ipconfig -flushdns" commands, no help

- did not edit "hosts" file at first (not present on my machine)

- did edit "hosts" file, adding arena net IPs using some other thread, nothing again

Anybody got the same issue and managed to solve it? 😄 Only when I run via VPN, it works, but connection is extra slow and is just a temp solution.

Edited by Wrymn.9253

The error means it can't connect to the patch server (http://assetcdn.101.arenanetworks.com/latest64/101).

If you want to do the hosts edit, note the IP changes every few days, so you can't use an IP from an old post, and when it changes, it'll cause this problem. The current IP is: 54.80.122.236

A more general option, assuming a DNS problem, is changing DNS providers, such as Google or Cloudflare.

If you can access http://assetcdn.101.arenanetworks.com/latest64/101 in your browser, other software is preventing GW2 from accessing it. Ensure it simply isn't being blocked by a firewall, anti-virus, proxy or other software that can interfere with your network traffic.

~

You can reset your network protocols by opening a command prompt as an administrator and entering the following, then rebooting:

netsh int ip reset

netsh winsock reset