Matchmaking Metrics and New Players

Gibson.4036

I just started playing WvW last week. I played enough in one week to complete silver skirmish and get my warclaw. I'm playing a handful of hours this week as well.

It sounds like the matchmaking metric is largely on hours played, though I haven't seen an indication of whether that means lifetime or over a period prior to the season, or a mix of both. My time so far, as a non-guild newbie has been heavily reliant on following around players (both big groups and small havoc groups) and learning from them as I stumble along.

In the future, with my week and a half played in the prior season, my lifetime play measured in having only reached rank 26 (under 150% booster last week, 250% yesterday), what will my experience be like as a non-guild player?

If the metrics are entirely about time played in the last season, until I join a guild I'll forever be among my peers... those who play a handful of hours in WvW a week. I'm going to be encountering casual PVX guilds in WvW and getting invites from them. I'm probably not going to see a lot of organized tactics to learn from.

If the metrics take into account lifetime play, that will help. The longer I stick with WvW, even at my handful of hours a week, the more I'll get matched up with dedicated WvW players. Still, the early learning period is not going to be with those players.

I know the answer is find a guild to join. I totally plan to do this, but at the moment we are in this hybrid place, and it doesn't make sense to restrict myself to guilds on my world when world is going to be a moot point in the near future.