• Catalyst
    • Untamed
    • Mechanist
    • Specter
    • Vindicator
    • Bladesworn
    • Willbender
    • None :(

I'm new to WvW, and overall quite new to the game despite playing on and off since launch... Always done a few weeks here, then a few months off, so never really got attached to a certain class. Excited to get my teeth in to WvW, however equally excited to try a new elite spec, and so the question arises of which the community think will actually be played in this game type. Therefore, which are you most hyped for playing in WvW?

Edited by Kootz.4102

If looking at roaming, honestly anything can work. There’s roaming builds for basically all specs / base classes, so if you find something that works for you it can work.

For zerging (which I think this question is focused on), nope. None of the elites seem to contribute significantly to any roles.

Ones that seemed close are:

Virtuoso is close, could add a dps option for Mesmer, but it’s all projectile based which is hard to work around.

Vindicator seemed to have the idea of more AoE damage, but seems to focus a lot of its traits into the dodge mechanic while not having to a of power damage % increases. Probably won’t overtake Herald. The support / healing portion seems to be great in PvE, but may not translate well to WvW due to a lack of cleansing. Could still maybe work as a secondary healer to, but probably won’t have room in a party (won’t replace a FB, Scrapper, or Tempest).

Untamed seemed like they were trying to add a frontline build with boon strip and CC, but the fact that the pet is still a thing makes it dead on arrival, and everything about the spec feels horrendously undertuned or weak. Cannot compete in power dps compared to other melee options, or in boon stripping compared to significantly better and easier options (Spellbreaker, Chrono, Scourge).